Her name was Neda

And according to this blogger she was an innocent 16-year-old bystander shot at her father’s side by the basij on Saturday for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. “It is said that a Basij sniper shot her through the heart, simply to see her die,” the blogger writes. Neda, and the harrowing video of her death as her father tries to save her, are fast becoming a  leitmotif forwhat is happening in Iran. It should be pointed out that some websites are wondering about the authenticity of the video. But that really seems not to matter now. She even has a separate Twitter channel dedicated to her which is fast rising up the trend chart.

Later several posts suggested her name was Neda Aghasoltan and this photograph is said to be of her.

This video is not for the faint-hearted, yet it is at the heart of Iran’s tragedy.

CNN – Neda becomes rallying cry

Time: one woman’s death my have many consequences

An example of the effect of the Neda story is the website Medius Oriens, which carries a page entitled ‘Neda was my sister’


On it various contributors give their thoughts such as those below:

From an Iranian woman

I’m here to let you know I’m alive but my sister was killed…
I’m here to tell you my sister died while in her father’s hands
I’m here to tell you my sister had big dreams…
I’m here to tell you my sister who died was a decent person…
and like me yearned for a day when her hair would be swept by the wind…
and like me read “Forough” [Forough Farrokhzad]…
and longed to live free and equal…
and she longed to hold her head up and announce, “I’m Iranian”…
and she longed to one day fall in love to a man with a shaggy hair…
and she longed for a daughter to braid her hair and sing lullaby by her crib…
my sister died from not having life…
my sister died as injustice has no end…
my sister died since she loved life too much…
and my sister died since she lovingly cared for people…

From Dustan, Atlanta, GA

In my life I have never seen the brutality of oppression captured more clearly… This girl sacrificed before our eyes . The supreme leader has done exactly what he said he would do, and this is the sickening face of it. I am a citizen of the US. and I still don’t believe it is our place to interfere. (we have done far too much of that in the past) This is still an Iranian matter. But I see this girl Neda’s eyes… the fear, shock… I want to do something. I will say that although I am not there, and because of this, it would be hypocritical to say I understand completely. The time for peaceful protest has passed PLEASE AVENGE THIS GIRL

From Thomas Kaspar

Make no mistake about what happeneded to this girl Neda she was murdered .

I did not know what a Basij was until I looked it up on Wiki . There are many videos of them looking and behaving exactly like a Nazi SS guads . What a repressive awful place Iran is . If you notived this ass Mahmoud Ahmadinejad left the country , he is a coward and a liar .

She was murdered in cold blood and this was sanctioned by the orders of the so called Gran Ayatollah of Iranian Regime that Iranians can not march in protest .

From JoWazzoo

While her voice has been silenced by a coward sniper, it has been heard by millions and will be heard forever. My heart is breaking but I pray for my brothers and sisters in Iran.

From Sunrunner

It was not an accident that the misogynist basiji thug took aim at the heart of a beautiful young woman, and not her father who was standing right beside her.

She is my sister, she is your sister, she is the sister of every woman in the world who has ever been afraid to walk down a street alone, who has been afraid to leave an abusive husband, who has been afraid to let her spirit sing in words and deeds.

From billy

iran gvnt is not humankind for sure.

A video tribute to Neda

Leave a Reply

